With individual initiatives catered to various needs and situations, the Canadian immigration landscape is one of the most flexible and dynamic in the world. These initiatives demonstrate Canada’s dedication to embracing immigration, ranging from skilled workers to investors and family reunification. 

Currently, foreign nationals who wish to obtain permanent residency in Canada have over 100 distinct avenues for them to choose from. It is crucial to remember that there is no universal outline that applies to every situation because the requirements for every immigration program vary greatly. 

Permanent Residence — What it Entails

An individual who has obtained the legal right to permanently reside in Canada without being a naturalized citizen of the country is known as a Canadian Permanent Resident. Acquiring this status from the Canadian government, such a person would enjoy most rights awarded to the citizens of Canada. It should be noted that permanent residents are still citizens of their native countries.

Canadian permanent residents enjoy the following rights:

  • The right to welfare benefits, including universal healthcare facilities.
  • The right to live, work, or study in any Canadian province or territory.
  • The right to protection under Canadian laws.
  • The right to apply for Canadian citizenship.

However, Canadian permanent residents are not entitled to:

  • The right to vote or run for political office.
  • The right to accept employment opportunities that need high-level security clearance.

Permanent Residence — The Different VISA Categories

Each immigration program extended by the Canadian government comes with its own set of requirements and specifications attached. Each program reserves exclusive eligibility criteria that applicants must meet in order to be considered for PR under that program. As already mentioned, there are more than 100 ways for individuals to apply for permanent residence in Canada. Following is a list of the most prominent immigration programs among them —

  • Immigration Initiatives Under the Economic and Business Categories

Express Entry System — Formally introduced in 2015, the Express Entry immigration system is an electronic management system that comprises a number of economic class immigration programs. They are:

  1. Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) — Skilled professionals having relevant work experience under the Canadian National Occupation Classification (NOC) level 0, A, or B are considered eligible to apply for PR under this program. Such applications are evaluated based on an applicant’s qualifications, work history, and capacity for establishing oneself financially in Canada. Age, experience, language proficiency, education, holding a legitimate job offer in Canada, and adaptability are some of the qualifications that count towards the FSWP route. In addition to this, one needs to be able to support themselves financially in Canada without needing to use government assistance. A minimum of 67 points must be obtained on the FSWP in order to be eligible for express entry. 
  2. Federal Skilled Trade Program (FSTP) — The FSTP program was created by the Canadian government in response to the skilled labour shortage in the country. It is best suited for skilled workers possessing relevant experience in the skilled trades. Prerequisites include having a legitimate job offer, having sufficient language skills, and meeting the minimum job requirements listed in the National Occupation Classification (NOC).
  3. Canadian Experience Class (CEC) — To be eligible for permanent residence under the CEC program, the candidate must possess Canadian work experience of at least one year, which should have been obtained within the last three years prior to application. It is worth noting that the CEC initiative was exclusively created for foreign-skilled workers with Canadian work experience. The Canadian Experience course does not have any educational prerequisites, but one must possess adequate language proficiency. 

Provincial Nominee Program — Applicants may be nominated for permanent residence by Canadian provinces and territories under the Provincial Nominee Programme (PNP). An applicant’s eligibility is dependent on their ability to contribute to the Canadian economy through their education, work experience, or skills. Every province or territory has its own requirements for nomination. Such nominations can be made through either the non-Express Entry or the Express Entry route. To be eligible for the same, applicants must begin by applying to a particular province or territory, then be selected by said province or territory, and finally submit a PR application to the IRCC.

Start-Up VISA Program — Entrepreneurs with a novel business idea and capital to launch a company in Canada that will boost employment and the country’s economy are eligible for the Start-Up visa. Applying under this category would require the candidates to have a minimum of two years of business experience. In addition to this, they would need to obtain support from approved Canadian organizations for their venture or business plan.

Self-Employed VISA Program — Self-employed professionals reserve the opportunity to acquire permanent residence in Canada under the Self-Employed immigration policy extended by the Canadian government. To be eligible under this initiative, applicants must be capable of making a significant contribution to the agricultural, cultural, or athletic sectors of the Canadian economy. 

  • Immigration Initiatives Under the Family Class Category

Family unity is a priority for the Canadian government. Canadian immigration policies facilitate the immigration of over 100,000 families of immigrants annually. Sponsors who meet the eligibility requirements are allowed to immigrate their spouses, common-law partners, parents, siblings, kids, and immediate family members to Canada. To sponsor their family, an “undertaking” must be signed by the applicant. This implies that they will bear the financial burden of supporting the individual they sponsor.

  • Immigration Initiatives Under the Humanitarian & Compassionate Category

In the event that an individual does not meet the eligibility requirements for entry into Canada, they may still be able to apply for immigration on humanitarian and compassionate grounds. An application for permanent residence would be assessed based on the following standards under this category:

  1. Having relatives who are citizens or permanent residents of Canada.
  2. Having a job in Canada without a valid work visa.
  3. Having participated in charitable work in Canada.
  4. Studied in Canada and finished school without a valid study permit.
  5. Possession of real estate in Canada.
  6. Being socially connected to communities in Canada.


A clear vision allows you to confidently and purposefully navigate the immigration process. The first step in any successful Canadian public relations endeavour would be to stress the importance of clearly outlining your goals, whether they be to better protect your family’s future, pursue professional opportunities, or embrace Canada’s multiculturalism.

For every client, Kurzfeld Law offers objective immigration services tailored to their needs and interests.